My impressions of day one

I held back tears today as I took my official oath of office. Our distinguished speaker this morning really hit a point that I thought was inspiring (I’m paraphrasing): “We swear an oath not to a person or a religion, but to an idea.”

Besides the exhaustion, the endless stacks of paperwork, and required HR presentations, I couldn’t help but feel giddy the entire day. I met a woman representing the women special interest group, as it turns out she is Ghanaian. So we chatted in Twi for a bit.

I posed for my badge picture and when I finally got to see my shiny new ID, my picture is glowing. I look like the happiest person on the planet.

Because I am.

Leave a Reply

