Fashion in Peace Corps

IMG_3871

I don’t care if I’m a Peace Corps Volunteer, I still like to look nice. I still wear makeup. Everyone adopts their own sense of style during their Peace Corps service. Some people rock the hippie look. Some people opt for the market clothes pile diving. Some people avidly raid the free box from other volunteers. Some people get clothes made. Some people are still wearing the same two shirts they brought with them. Everyone has a different attitude toward style in Peace Corps. I know that probably half of Peace Corps Ghana scoffs at the fact that I still wear makeup almost daily. It doesn’t help that I just got a makeup extravaganza box in the mail from my mom. Look out Ghana! I’ve got 50 new eyeshadows and nothing but time!

I have to admit though I am pretty proud of my ever growing Ghana fashion collection. My tailor at my old site was marvelous, she was pretty good at replicating the pictures I gave her. There is something so great about getting a Western style dress from the tailor and it is full on batik or piecey piecey. Don’t even get me started on planning my All Vol outfits. All Vol is not only a time for all volunteers to get together, but it is when all the girls bust out their best clothes. It is like peacocks puffing up their feathers. Everyone wants to be the cutest, the best dressed, the most stylish volunteer to parade around All Vol. Only 4 more months and I need to get planning. I refuse to wear outfits that I have worn before, I need to get new ones made.

Oh god. I’m turning into that person. Oh well. I am supporting locals with my ridiculous fabric and tailor addiction. At least that’s what I tell myself. I know I can’t be the only volunteer out there that loves the local fashions.

So, calling all Peace Corps Volunteers! Do you have some fabulous local fashions that you would like to share? Have you gotten some great clothes made from the tailor? Do you combine local fabrics with western styles? Or do you go full on local?

I want to see your Peace Corps Style! In the comments below send me a link to your blog/pictures. I’d like to see how Peace Corps Volunteers around the world blend Second and Third Goals with their fashion. Share your Peace Corps Fashions here: https://www.facebook.com/PeaceCorpsFashions 

So show off your stuff! What have you got made that you are really proud of?

Here are some of mine:

IMG_3803

Local batik, Anthropologie design

IMG_3814

Local batiks and wax print, Anthropologie based design

IMG_3832

Peace Corps batik, local design

IMG_3857

Woodin fabrics, own design

60535_10151264603580982_580838837_n

Accra batik, own design

290265_3783044621854_2113889047_o

Accra giraffe batik, tailor’s design

 

 

6 thoughts on “Fashion in Peace Corps

  1. Hi! I am also a PCV in Indonesia. I’m so happy I found your blog. I’m like you. I love fashion and make up. I just started my service, but I want to continue being myself while I’m here for the next two years. I teach at a Muslim middle school so I’m thinking of making my batik top a long sleeve peplum top and skinny brown pants to match. What are your thoughts?

    • Hey Stephanie! There’s nothing wrong with wanting to still be fashion forward and be in the Peace Corps. Everyone needs to keep something that reminds them of who they really are, and for me I express it through fashion and makeup. I think a long sleeve peplum top with skinny pants sound fantastic! The sleeves and pants will give balance to the peplum. Sounds like a fantastic idea! You should share a picture of the finished product!

      • I will share it. Just keep in mind, I didn’t pick the fabric. Haha. I read some of your posts and I love it. Even though we are in very different places in the Peace Corps, it’s nice knowing that not only do we have similar volunteers, but we have similar experiences. I hope I have some days of success like you do because there are days when I wonder if I’m actually going to be of any help.

    • There are many many days when I think I haven’t done anything in my two years. But then something small happens, like today for instance. I was washing my clothes outside when the little girl who lives next to me came over to see what I was doing. Since I’ve moved in, she hasn’t spoken a single word to me. She’s so shy, but today I asked her where she was going and she answered me! You don’t have to cure the world of HIV or eradicate malaria to make a difference. Sometimes all it takes is being friendly to a two year old girl or speaking the local language. People remember those things, they remember you. They might not remember what you taught them, but they remember the person who moved across the world to spend time getting to know them.

Leave a Reply

