Hermanus, I barely know him!

My time in Hermanus wasn’t just whales and sharks. After the shark diving, I went back to the hostel for a short break. I called for a rickshaw taxi to take me to the Wine Village. I had read about this wine store in the Rough Guide to South Africa. I heard it was one of the best wine stores in all of South Africa. So of course it was on my list.

I get to the place and happiness sinks in. Free wine tastings! So I tried 6 different wines while shopping around the place. I picked up 6 bottles of wine and was ecstatic. I didn’t have a car so I had to wait for the rickshaw to come pick me back up, it took about an hour. So the owner of the store felt bad for me and had me try some gin, a special type of South African wine with a lemon, some port, and more wine. I LOVE THIS PLACE.

I head back to the hostel a happy camper. Later that night, I went to one of the fancy hotels in town for dinner. I had a three course meal. Before hand though, I grabbed a drink in the hotel bar and it was a good choice. A mint chocolate martini complete with a nice platter of CASHEWS, olives, and other little finger foods. Delicious. At dinner I had a seafood soup, LOBSTERS (plural, there were like 3 of them), and chocolate fondant. I was so full by the end of it I thought I was going to burst.

The next day I woke up early and went for a morning walk along the coast. The whales were clearly morning animals too. I saw so many moms and babies playing together it was simply incredible. One little guy just sat there hitting his tail against the water for maybe 10 minutes. The weather was dreary was I decided to go horseback riding. It has been a long time since I’ve been on a horse and I could tell. The saddle didn’t really agree with my thighs and I was aching from the start. My horse was ornery and kept yanking on his bit. We went for a canter and my horse decided this was his time to shine. I of course almost fell off, which was embarrassing but mostly painful. The view was spectacular though. We snaked through vineyards and hobbled over streams. We made our way to a waterfall and the sun came out to greet us.

IMG_0166IMG_0170IMG_0172

The flowers were in bloom because spring had just arrived, so the whole area was filled with bright yellows and purples.

Oh and funny thing. While driving to the stables, I saw baboons and chickens crossing the road in the same place. I’m sure there is a joke in there somewhere.

Later that day I went to dinner at a place called Lemon Butta. It is on the second story of a little shopping area right next to the cliffs. I sat next to the window and watched the whales while eating dinner. I was hungry so I ate early and practically alone in the place. I ordered the baby kingklip, which is probably my new favorite fish. It was HUGE. No kidding it was the size of my arm (from the elbow down), width and all. Did I eat the whole thing, almost it came with calamari so I ate all of that too. While eating dinner a whale decided to put on an amazing show. Just feet from one of the cliffs, a young whale was breaching out of the water. He was so close you could see the barnacles on his face. When whales breach, they often do it multiple times. This guy was feeling showy and he breached at least five times. Oh yeah and I totally ordered dessert at this place and it was delicious.

Eating alone is actually really enjoyable for me. Yes, I love great company, but eating alone can be empowering. You have time to take in your surroundings and truly enjoy the food. You taste more when you eat alone because you aren’t distracted by conversation. Eating alone can be scary, but it just proves that you are independent and strong. You don’t need someone to fill your time, that’s what the food is for. What a better way to experience food.

I should have been a food critic.

One thought on “Hermanus, I barely know him!

  1. I still want to be a food critic, but actually probably less of a critic and more of just a food writer. I’m not that critical of food because I love it so much 🙂

Leave a Reply

