Best Decision Ever

There are moments in your life that define you. There are moments you always remember. There are decisions you make that forever change your life. Joining the Peace Corps was the best decision I ever made. I have never been happier. I have never felt more fulfilled. I have never learned so much about myself, others, or culture.

Yesterday, I spent the afternoon and evening with my host family. I just sat and listened to them. I barely spoke any English. I just listened to them speak in Twi. As the night wore on and the power went off, darkness descended and the clouds parted. Suddenly the entire sky was filled with stars. I grabbed my mat and laid down on the ground. It was like having a window to heaven. The stars are far more beautiful in Africa, with no light pollution last night – I could see everything. I could even see the Milky Way stretching across the sky.

We all laid down and looked for shooting stars. I told them in America, if you see a shooting star, you get to make a wish. Naturally, every plane they saw they claimed it was a shooting star. They had never seen one before. We laughed and talked about the stars, about our days, about life.

The entire family, laying on the concrete, gazing at the stars. It was simply magical. Words cannot even begin to describe the emotions I felt while laying on the ground surrounded by my adopted family. I didn’t stop smiling for hours last night. It felt like a movie scene, it didn’t even seem real. How could my life be this amazing? How can I be so fortunate to have such a wonderful family here in Ghana? How does my life keep getting better?

I wouldn’t give up this experience for a million dollars. You can’t put a price on bliss.

One thought on “Best Decision Ever

Leave a Reply

