Why Now is Perfect

All the stars have aligned and produced now. Now is Peace Corps. Now is the Cashew Initiative. Now is business literacy training. Now is giving a tour to a big wig fund manager as requested by an influential organization. Now is SAP. Now is my compound and everyone living in it. Now is the Velveta cheese sitting in my fridge. Now is my new Kindle. Now is the rainy season. Now is my tailor. Now is not having to order at my banku place anymore, they just bring me my favorite combo. Now is new friends. Now is old friends leaving. Now is sarcasm with my counterpart. Now is messages from friends back home – Ellen! Now is being home. Now is never wanting to leave. Now is Ghana.

Now is also bittersweet. I am truly going to miss my good friend Joe. I can’t imagine Ghana without him and his guidance. Now is goodbyes and see you laters. Now is sad. Now is a new start. Now is about self-discovery. Now is missing people even when they haven’t left yet. Now is realizing that Peace Corps is a fleeting experience.

I never want now to end. Now is being the happiest Peace Corps Volunteer on the planet. Now is perfect.

2 thoughts on “Why Now is Perfect

  1. Greetings from the Peace Corps’ Office of Third Goal and Returned Volunteer Services! What a poetic account of this moment. It really captures the essence of living and working abroad and the Peace Corps experience.

    • I’m glad you like my post! My Peace Corps experience is far from over, but already it has changed me in so many ways. I’m very glad to share my experiences.

Leave a Reply

