1 Chief, 1 Malaria, 1 Papaya

So first things first, I was feeling better after taking the malaria pills, Coartem. I mean I was feeling almost 100% better. Then I started to get tired again. Today, I was really tired and just lethargic. I went to the office because I needed to do a lot of things. I accomplished them, yay! But when I got home I laid down for a nap. I slept for 3 hours. I still have a mild fever, the body and joint pains are back, and a headache has formed. Plus my entire body itches, like nobody’s business. I just want to feel better. Peace Corps will patch me up and I will be all better. I hope.

Now for better news. I bought a papaya the size of my lower leg. No kidding! It is giant. I have no idea how that poor tree was able to hold this giant fruit. It is so sweet too. It is tender and juicy and delicious. Best papaya ever! It was only 2cd, which is about $1 for a fruit the size of 3 footballs. I couldn’t even imagine purchasing a fruit this big in the states. I have never even seem a watermelon that big.

Now for the most exciting news. I am up to 37 husbands. Number 37 is a chief! ONE DOWN. It was a really funny exchange. The Chairman of my Union gave me some of this guys mangos. The chief, Ali G, was like “woah, woah, woah – you can’t give my mangos out to just anyone. I have to marry her now if she wants my mangos.” Cynthia next to me says: “HE’S A CHIEF!” I turn to Ali G, “YES! YES! A chief. Done. Married.” Everyone laughs, inside I am thinking – “oh score, one down, two more to go. This is great. Really great, moving up.” We eat some of the mangos, the green ones are just divine. They taste like they were grown on a lime tree, just a hint of citrus. I love it. We sit around just eating our mangos, when Cynthia and Ali G go to talk over in the corner. Suddenly, everyone looks over at me – I’m devouring my mango and I have juice dripping down my face. I look like a deer in the headlights. It was fantastic. No clue what they said.

So, all in all it was a pretty productive day. I accomplished more than I was expecting, despite still feeling sick. It is really remarkable how much work I actually do. I mean, hour wise. If I were being paid by the hour, I wouldn’t have enough to buy a loaf of bread. But somehow, you are far more productive here in a shorter amount of time, despite the constraints on just about every aspect of work. Fascinating.

Leave a Reply

