42 days later

I got sick of waiting. It has been 42 days since I received medical clearance and not a peep from placement. I think it is odd too that my medical thing on the toolkit still says “look for your letter in the mail.” So I went ahead and emailed a new and improved resume to the placement office. Hopefully I will hear SOMETHING. anything! I really just want to make sure they know I still exist. Especially after my dental file got stamped, but never updated. That’s my fear now – my file got stamped and shoved into a dark corner.

The number one thing I am concerned about now is that I am not going to get a spot this year. I only qualify for non-Spanish and non-French speaking countries. Peacecorpswiki shows that they are only like 78 spots (based on 2009 data). I don’t know why but I really want to go this year. Maybe because it is 2011. 11 is my lucky number. My birthday this year will be 11.1.11. This year is special for me and I want to do something with it.

Whiny RAS blog post wah wah. 🙂

I am really hoping that going on vacation will be the much need RAS break, work de-stresser, and overall good vibe I need to keep me going for a long time. Vacation starts in 2 days 🙂 Too bad I am going to have to get up around 3:30am to catch my flight.

Also, side note! So, I got in a minor car accident the middle of this month. A guy backed straight into me. Idiot. Anyway, he accepted 100% liability – well duh. So my car is getting fixed for what I hope is free – I don’t think you pay anything when the other person accepts full fault. So, my car is getting a face-lift while I am on vacation. I think I am really going to enjoy this week off!

4 thoughts on “42 days later

  1. Hey! I am going through the same thing right now! It has been almost 4 months since I have heard ANYTHING from placement after being medically cleared! I really hope we both hear something soon! How did you know which countries you qualified for?

    Good luck and enjoy your vacation!

  2. Hey Danielle, my recruiter told me during my interview which countries I was qualified for. It was simply based on my language abilities. There are not a lot of countries the Peace Corps goes to that speak German. I may very well get a Spanish or French speaking country – but the odds are very slim.
    That’s crazy thought that you haven’t heard from placement in 4 months! I would call your recruiter! What program were you nominated for?

  3. If you have time, take a look at the printed PC advice I found and posted March 4th in my blog (palew.blogspot.com), plus the following postings describing the outcome.

    By the way, I too was nominated for non-Spanish & non-French speaking countries, but my invitation will result in me learning a language that uses the Cyrillic alphabet (!). Oh, well.

    Best wishes

    • Lew, I have seen that before the 8 weeks thing. I enjoyed reading your posts! I am just being restless – I know they will get to me eventually 🙂

Leave a Reply

