Peace Corps and Rent Renewals

Well it has officially been a month since I got medical clearance and no word from placement. Honestly, I am not expecting to hear anything for another month at least. The one thing that throws a kink into everything is the fact that my lease expires end of May. So now is about the time I would be renewing. The cost difference between a 3 month lease and a 6 month lease is pretty substantial.

6 month lease – going up 11 bucks a month

3 month lease – going up to retail price of unit, so about 40 bucks, plus the 11 bucks a month, plus a $35 a month fee

So, I called my recruiter this morning (who is amazing) and asked him about my status. He said everything looks normal and that I am right to not expect to hear anything for a while. I told him about my lease renewal being up though and he said that if I don’t hear from placement by the end of the month, to call him back and he will prod placement. He can’t guarantee that I will get moved up at all, but sometimes an internal gentle push is all that’s needed.

I stumped him with a question though. I asked: you wouldn’t know any statistics on how many people actually get their nominations would you? I then clarified by specifying time wise, not location. He said that I posed an excellent question and he didn’t know. He did give me this information though: he thinks that since all my stuff has been moving along nicely and I haven’t had any delays or holdups that things look promising for me! Of course, I take everything with a grain of salt – things can and will change at any time. But it is such a nice small glimmer of hope to think that I may know just a teensy bit more.

With this knowledge I am campaigning my apartment complex to give me special permission to terminate a lease early without penalty. I brought up that my lease has a provision for military, I asked if Peace Corps could qualify since it is also a government program.  I stumped my apartment manager though, so she is calling corporate and will let me know tomorrow.

I am kinda superstitious and think Murphy’s Law will work against me in this situation. If I sign a 3 month lease, something will happen and I won’t leave this year.

If I sign a 6 month lease, I will leave in August.

Can’t wait to find out if the corporate office even knows what Peace Corps is. This part of the country barely knows where Africa is anyways.

Leave a Reply

