FSO and PC

I am officially addicted to Peace Corps blogs. I start to shut my computer down at night, then I think – oh, let me just check one more!

I just finished my FSO personal narrative questions. All 6 of them. It was extremely long and you basically sum yourself up in 1200 words. I am so glad it is done and submitted though. That’s an awesome weight off my shoulders. Now, I just have to wait and find out if I get called for the full day of crazy interviews.

I really don’t know what I would do if I got FSO. I really really want to do Peace Corps, but FSO is my life-long dream. Part of me says: well if you get in this time, that means you can do it again. The other part says: what if this is your only chance?

CONFLICTED. I think in the end the former will win. Peace Corps is a once in a lifetime experience that I really should do while I am young. I will have many more years to pass the FSO exam, essays, and interview again. I wonder if they defer at all?  USAID FS does, hmmm. I truly believe that Peace Corps is extremely important and will help shape me and a community. FS is honestly all about me, this is something I want. Yes, it also helps people, but I want to be an FSO. Peace Corps, I want to help others first.

What makes this all even worse? I have an AWESOME job and my dog is getting more and more attached to me everyday. And of course I am in love with my dog, he is so cute, sweet, and cuddly. He is everything I have ever wanted in a dog. Totally perfect. I know that he will be waiting for me when I get home, but I can’t help but be paranoid. What if something happens to him? What if he won’t want to go back to me? I am of course worried that something may happen to my parents, but knowing my dad (who is going to take my dog) – he will probably do something stupid and my dog will end up killed. For example, strapping him to his motorcycle and taking him for a ride. Just thinking about it gives me heart palpitations.

I guess that’s the whole point of Peace Corps though – you have to give up everything for two years. That way you can fully devote yourself to your mission.

Now if only I would hear from placement. I saw that 2 more African countries got added to August: Zambia and Senegal. I just know that there are limited spots and I want one 🙂

2 thoughts on “FSO and PC

  1. So I’ll admit I’m addicted to PCJs as well. I read them constantly, and have for months now. I came across yours a while ago when you mentioned passing your FS exam and I’m jealous. After PC i’d like to work with USAID overseas somewhere. whatever you choose – good luck, if you’re posting, I’ll be reading.

  2. Thanks for reading! FSO Exam, yeah I failed the first time and it was heartbreaking. I studied so much for it. This last time, I went in assuming it would just be practice. I think that’s what made all the difference. I have wanted to be an FSO for 8(?) years now. If I ever truly get in to the Foreign Service it would be like winning the lottery.
    I have a huge guilt complex though, I feel like everything wonderful that happens to me – I have to give back for. That’s one of the reasons I wanna do PC. I have really benefited from some government programs – I need to give back to the government. Since I have been so fortunate, I feel it is important to hopefully help someone improve their fortune.
    Gah sorry went on a tangent.

Leave a Reply

