I passed the FSOT!

I have a feeling this is going to be the best year yet. I found out today that I passed the Foreign Service Officer Exam. Honestly, I just took it for practice this year. I believe it took a lot of pressure off the exam and helped me pass it. I am beyond excited.

Passing the FSOT has been a life-long dream of mine. I can still remember the very conversation that made me want to be a FSO. I remember what room it was in, what chair I was sitting in, everything. It was so many years ago.

Knowing that I have the ability to pass the exam is like finding out I am secretly a supermodel or a rocket scientist. It is the hugest self-esteem boost you could ask for. It would be like walking into a room when you think you are having an awful day and every single person tells you: “you are awesome. you are gorgeous. you are the best person I know.” Okay, going a little far, but that’s the feeling going through me right now. Pure elation.

When I read the email I literally screamed (softly), then I started slightly hyperventilating and  crying. This is my year. This is the year that I accomplish my goals, that I establish that I am a strong, independent woman who never lets go of her dreams. This is the year that I prove success comes from hard work, dedication, ambition, and independence.

Further proof that I don’t need a man to define me. I am who I am and I am damn proud of it.

(Now to pass medical and get placement and I will be one hell of a happy girl)

Leave a Reply

