Heard from my nurse!!! Finally!

Too bad it doesn’t look promising. I wrote that I get migraines from dehydration. My nurse basically said – you are going to be dehydrated for 2 years. Explain to me how you are going to avoid migraines. She was basically telling me that it doesn’t look good. I am about to cry.

This is one of my life’s goals. I have to write a statement (another one) further explaining. She said then she would discuss it with a physician and let me know. I am going to write a small essay on every single detail of my migraines. I will fight this if I have to. Yes, I understand water is contaminated over there, but every single peace corps blog I read says everyone has access to water. I have no doubt that I can have a bottle of water with me at all times.

ARGHHHHHHH. Plus I am missing Hep B surface antigen – the only test that got shuffled under. I am going to go take it at lunch hopefully. Right now? I am going to write an essay explaining my migraines and why I don’t think they will be an issue.

6 thoughts on “Heard from my nurse!!! Finally!

  1. Don’t panic just yet. I had to write tons of essays regarding migraines, asthma, allergies, etc. As long as you have a plan, you should be okay. Tell her you plan on bringing an ample supply of rehydration salts (which they also provide to volunteers) in case you’re ever without water. Tell her you plan on bringing migraine medicine (not sure if this usually helps you) that you can take to ease any migraines that you do get. If you’ve been getting migraines for a long time and you know how to handle it, discuss that as well. Let her know that this is nothing new and you can function even with the migraines (if you actually can). Google some other “home remedies” and throw those ideas in as well. It’s all about a plan. Best wishes!

  2. By all means, go for it.
    Do not regret having informed PC about it either. Doing it this way will assure success. If you had not informed them and then experienced problems while serving, you would likely have found yourself on a plane back to the States with little to no chance of explaining anything. For what it is worth, I informed PC during my health care self-report about a past medical issue and I was able to travel and track down the treating MD from years ago and obtain a written summary from that MD which PC finally accepted and I now have medical clearance.
    Write your essay, get written MD support and pursue all means possible.
    Best wishes to you.

  3. I think writing a statement is a great idea. I have migraines as well — a rare kind that actually make me pass out and temporarily lose vision — but they are completely treatable/preventable with my medication, which I have on me at all times. PC requested a personal statement about my migraines and how I plan on dealing with them, and in addition sent me a questionnaire to fill out. I was really nervous this was going to prevent me from getting an invitation, but as soon as I showed that my migraines are manageable and preventable, I cleared medical and received an invitation soon after.

    Good luck 🙂

  4. Thank you guys so much for your comments! I drafted up a summary essay this morning. I will make sure to mention the rehydration salts – great idea! That’s the thing that drives me crazy – my migraines are totally manageable and preventable. I just need to make sure that my review nurse is totally convinced of that.
    It is incredibly nerve-wracking, since her main concern was about dehydration. I know that volunteers have access to water and I don’t want that to hold me back!

  5. Don’t worry I’ve read plenty of blogs that had the same problem and theyg ot their invitation. The people above gave really good advice as well. That’s great that you heard from them! Think of it in a positive way, you know that they are actually looking at your packet. (It wasn’t lost and they are CURRENTLY looking lol) How did you get in touch with them?

Leave a Reply

