10 Months and 5 Days

Time is quickly slipping from under my fingers. The days are a blur and weeks slide into months. I can’t believe I’ve been here for over 16 months. I only have 10 months and 5 days left in my service.

Here’s a breakdown of my service so far:

495 days in country
51 days spent evacuated
71 days in training
21 days in South Africa on vacation
108 farmers trained on business literacy
870 farmers registered for SAP Pilot in 2012
14 buying station facilitators trained on the SAP system today
over 20 days spent sick in Accra
7 days spent recovering from Typhoid
1 month lost from memory from Typhoid
over 50 items received from the tailor
over 141 yards of fabric purchased
0 hours of TV watched on a TV
1 completely failed program
1 arch nemesis obtained
1 broken camera
72 shades of eyeshadow owned in Ghana
12 bottles of nailpolish
at least 200 balls of banku consumed
7 months until I finally tried fufu
over 2000 text messages sent to Richie
3 bottles of beer consumed that were smaller than 40oz
52 pairs of panties still with me and not shredded from washing
2 Ghanaian traditional dances mastered
2 instances of giardia
5 packages of oreos consumed in great haste
1 best friend obtained
1 tearful goodbye
495 days of love, joy, excitement, disappointment, sadness, longing, anger, and anxiousness.

I’ve done a lot so far, but I don’t feel successful. Starting over has been rough on my internal success measurements. I feel like I failed in my last site, but I know that’s not true. When I think about how little time I have left and what I want to accomplish in that time, I start to panic. There just isn’t enough time to do everything I want to do. Then again I think 10 months is an extremely long time, cashew season will be over before I know it. I want to feel accomplished and successful this year. I want to feel like I’ve made a difference. I want to get out there and do something that doesn’t involve my computer. I want to get my hands dirty and be a real Agriculture volunteer for once. I want to regret that decision.

I want more time. But then I get a message from a friend that brings me back to Earth. My friends and family in America are waiting patiently for me to return. They want to hug me and talk to me. They want to get a beer and catch-up. They want me to hold their babies. I want that. I want to feel cold again. I want to remember what it’s like to put on a scarf and bundle up. I’ve already started imaging where I want to go, what I want to eat, and what I want to do with my friends and family when I see them again for the first time. I imagine the initial hug. I imagine coming off the airplane in America. I’ve started planning my airplane outfit for gods sake. I saw a friend who just returned to Ghana after half a year being gone. I didn’t even know what to ask, where to start. How do you capture life in 6 months or even 2 years? How do you begin to summarize your life?

I don’t know and I’m not ready to even try yet. I still have 10 months and 5 days. That’s plenty of time to be the best damn Peace Corps Volunteer I can be.

Leave a Reply

